Laboratory of Biophotonics and Pharmacology
UMR CNRS 7213


Partenaires

CNRS
Logo Universite de strasbourg
 

Search

On this website

On the whole CNRS Web


Home page > Nanochemistry and bioimaging > Sondes fluorescentes moléculaires

Fluorescent molecular probes and nanoparticles

Last update 13 October 2015

Fluorescent molecular probes and nanoparticles

We develop fluorescent probes that provide information about their nano-environment by change of their fluorescence color. For building these probes, we use mainly 3-hydroxychromone fluorophores. They undergo Excited State Intramolecular Proton Transfer (ESIPT), which generates two excited species, normal (N*) and tautomer (T*), giving rise to the two-color fluorescence. The ratio of these two bands N*/T* provides information on the polarity, hydration and electrostatics (1, 2). Fluorescence and sensor properties of these dyes can be finely tuned by proper molecular design (3).

Membranes Probes

We develop molecular probes sensitive to different properties of lipid membranes. The selectivity of the probes to a particular membrane property can be achieved by proper selection of the fluorophore and its appropriate localization in the lipid membrane (3). Recent examples are probes of hydration and surface charge (F2N12S) (4), dipole (F8N1S and PPZ8) (5, 6) and transmembrane potential (di-SFA) (7).

 

Apoptosis detection

Normal cell membranes exhibit strong transbilayer asymmetry, while in apoptotic cells, it is lost. The probe F2N12S, which incorporates selectively into the outer leaflet of the cell plasma membrane, can detect this loss of asymmetry by changing its N*/T* intensity ratio (4). Being ratiometric, the response of the new probe can be easily quantified by microscopy techniques, a feature that can be hardly achieved with fluorescently labeled annexin V probes. Recently, we showed that NR12S can also be applied for apoptosis detection (10).

Membrane domain imaging

Membrane domains or “rafts” are believed to be involved in various cell functions. In model membranes, these domains, defined as liquid-ordered phase, can be observed as “rafts” floating in the fluid phase. NR12S and F2N12S probes due to their high sensitivity to the membrane hydration allows visualization of lipid domains in model membranes and monitoring lipid order in cellular membranes using ratiometric imaging (8,9) or FLIM.

Probes of biomolecular interactions

Using environment-sensitive probes we develop general strategies for monitoring interactions of peptides or proteins with nucleic acids, proteins and lipid membranes (11). Interaction of a peptide with its target commonly changes its local nano-environment, which can be detected by the environment-sensitive probe though change of its emission color.

Peptide-nucleic acid interaction

We develop environment-sensitive labels based on 3HC for sensing peptide-oligonucleotide (ODN) interactions. When attached to the N-terminus of the HIV-1 NCp7 protein, the N*/T* ratio of this probe depends on the interacting ODN sequence and correlates with the 3D structure of the corresponding complexes (12). We extended this approach, by developing a 3HC-based amino acid analogue that ideally substitutes Trp residues and allows site-selectively investigating complexes with ODN (13). Other environment-sensitive fluorescent amino acids are under development.

Peptide-protein interaction

Labeling a protein with a 3HC dye allows monitoring its interaction with a target protein, through changes of the N*/T* ratio (14), and thus, constitutes a universal tool for sensing peptide-protein interactions (11). The improvement of the sensor fluorophore is in progress.

Protein-membrane interaction

We developed a 3HC-based probe to monitor peptide/membrane interactions (15). Currently, using fluorescent amino acid analogues based on this 3HC probe, we study the insertion and the orientation of various peptides (melittin, NCp7, penetratin…) in model and cellular membranes.

References:

1) Klymchenko, A., Mely, Y., Demchenko, A., and Duportail, G. (2004) Simultaneous probing of hydration and polarity of lipid bilayers with 3-hydroxyflavone fluorescent dyes. Biochim. Biophys. Acta, 1665, 6-19.

2) Demchenko, A. P.; Mely, Y.; Duportail, G.; Klymchenko, A. S. Monitoring Biophysical Properties of Lipid Membranes by Environment-Sensitive Fluorescent Probes. Biophys. J. 2009, 96, 3461-3470.

3) Klymchenko, A. S., Duportail, G., Ozturk, T., Pivovarenko, V. G., Mely, Y., and Demchenko, A. P. (2002) Novel two-band ratiometric fluorescence probes with different location and orientation in phospholipid membranes. Chem. Biol. 9, 1199.

4) Shynkar, V. V., Klymchenko, A. S., Kunzelmann, C., Duportail, G., Muller, C. D., Demchenko, A. P., Freyssinet, J. M., and Mely, Y. (2007) Fluorescent biomembrane probe for ratiometric detection of apoptosis. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 129, 2187.

5) Shynkar, V. V., Klymchenko, A. S., Duportail, G., Demchenko, A. P., and Mely, Y. (2005) Two-color fluorescent probes for imaging the dipole potential of cell plasma membranes. Biochim. Biophys. Acta - Biomembranes 1712, 128.

6) Klymchenko, A. S., Duportail, G., Mely, Y., and Demchenko, A. P. (2003) Ultrasensitive two-color fluorescence probes for dipole potential in phospholipid membranes. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 100, 11219.

7) Klymchenko, A. S., Stoeckel, H., Takeda, K., and Mely, Y. (2006) Fluorescent probe based on intramolecular proton transfer for fast ratiometric measurement of cellular transmembrane potential. J. Phys. Chem. B 110, 13624.

8) Klymchenko, A. S., Oncul, S., Didier, P., Schaub, E., Bagatolli, L., Duportail, G., and Mely, Y. (2009) Visualization of lipid domains in giant unilamellar vesicles using an environment-sensitive membrane probe based on 3-hydroxyflavone. Biochim. Biophys. Acta, 1788, 495-499.

9) Kucherak, O., Oncul, S., Darwich, Z., Yushchenko, D. A., Arntz, Y., Didier, P., Mély, Y., Klymchenko, A. S. (2010) Switchable Nile Red-based probe for cholesterol and lipid order at the outer leaflet of biomembranes. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 132, 4907–4916.

10) Darwich, Z.; Klymchenko, A. S.; Kucherak, O. A.; Richert, L.; Mély, Y. (2012) Detection of apoptosis through the lipid order of the outer plasma membrane leaflet. Biochm. Biphys. Acta, 1818, 3048–3054.

11) Klymchenko AS, Mely Y. (2013) Fluorescent environment-sensitive dyes as reporters of biomolecular interactions. Prog Mol Biol Transl Sci. 113, 35-58.

12) Shvadchak, V.V., Klymchenko, A.S., de Rocquigny, H., and Mély, Y. (2009) Sensing peptide-oligonucleotide interactions by a two-color environment-sensitive label: application to the HIV-1 nucleocapsid protein. Nucleic Acids Res, 37, e25

13) Strizhak, A.V.; Postupalenko, V.Y. Shvadchak, V.V.; Morellet, N. Guittet, E. Pivovarenko, V.G. Klymchenko, A.S.; Mély, Y. (2012) Two-color fluorescent L-amino acid mimic of tryptophan for probing peptide-nucleic acid complexes. Bioconjugate Chem. 23, 2434−2443.

14) Enander, K., Choulier, L., Olsson, A. L., Yushchenko, D. A., Kanmert, D., Klymchenko, A. S., Demchenko, A. P., Mely, Y., and Altschuh, D. (2008) A peptide-based, ratiometric biosensor construct for direct fluorescence detection of a protein analyte. Bioconjug. Chem. 19, 1864.

15) Postupalenko, V. Y.; Shvadchak, V. V.; Duportail, G; Pivovarenko, V. G.; Klymchenko, A. S.; Mely, Y. (2011) Monitoring membrane binding and insertion of peptides by two-color fluorescent label. Biochim. Biophys. Acta, 1808, 424-432.

FLUORESCENT NANOPARTICLES AND VECTORS

Fluorescent organic nanoparticles.

Fluorescent nanoparticles are currently making a revolution in the field of biological imaging due to their exceptional fluorescence brightness and possible combination with other imaging and therapeutic modalities. The most established are inorganic nanoparticles, such as quantum dots and dye-doped silica nanoparticles, but their key limitation is lack of biodegradability. Our aim is to develop fluorescent organic nanoparticles of controlled size (5 to 100 nm), biodegradable and with comparable or better brightness than quantum dots. These nanoparticles are obtained by self-assembly of lipids (1), amphiphiles (2), or polymers and can respond to external biomolecular stimuli. These nanoparticles will be applied for ultra-sensitive detection of biomolecules (enzymes and nucleic acids), cellular and animal imaging with particular focus on viral and cancer diseases.

Supramolecular vectors for oligonucleotides and peptides

We also develop new concepts in preparation of nanoscale vehicles for nucleic acids and peptides, which constitute the key challenges in modern drug/gene delivery. Earlier, our team pioneered fluorescence spectroscopy and microscopy techniques for investigation of gene delivery vectors based on cationic lipids (3,4) and polymers (5,6). Recently we work on our own strategies for design and synthesis of delivery vectors. Unsymmetrical bolaamphiphiles were developed to form nanostructures encapsulating DNA and transfecting cells in vitro (7,8). Cationic amphiphilic calixarenes were also designed to form micelles that assemble with DNA into virus like particles featuring high stability and transfection efficiency (9). Currently, we extend these approaches to develop nanoscale vectors for short oligonucleotides and peptides. Fluorescence modality is also introduced to extend their applications for theranostics.

Laboratoire de Biophotonique et Pharmacologie
UMR CNRS 7213


Partenaires

CNRS
Logo Universite de strasbourg
 

Rechercher

Sur ce site

Sur le Web du CNRS


Accueil du site > Equipe Nanochimie et bioimagerie > Sondes fluorescentes moléculaires

Sondes fluorescentes moléculaires et nanoparticules

Mise à jour 13 octobre 2015

Sondes fluorescentes moléculaires et nanoparticules

Nous développons des sondes fluorescentes fournissant des informations sur leur nano-environnement via une modification de leur couleur d’émission. Pour la construction de ces sondes, nous utilisons des synthons comme la 3-hydroxychromone (3HC), le Rouge Nil ou d’autres fluorophores sensibles à l’environnement. Les sondes 3HC subissent un Transfert Intramoléculaire de Proton à l’Etat Excité (ESIPT) qui génère deux états excités, normal (N*) et tautomère (T*), donnant lieu à une fluorescence duale. Le rapport des deux bandes d’émission N*/T* procure une information sur la polarité, l’hydratation et les champs électriques de l’environnement (1, 2). Le Rouge Nil ne présente qu’une seule bande d’émission dont le maximum est déplacé en fonction de la polarité de l’environnement.

Sondes Membranaires

Nous développons des sondes moléculaires répondant aux différentes propriétés des membranes lipidiques. La sélectivité de ces sondes vis-à-vis d’une propriété particulière peut être assurée par le choix approprié d’un fluorophore et de sa localisation dans la bicouche lipidique (3). Des exemples récents sont les sondes mesurant l’hydratation et la charge de surface (F2N12S) (4), les potentiels dipolaire (F8N1S et PPZ8) (5, 6) et transmembranaire (di-SFA) (7) et l’ordre lipidique (F2N12S and NR12S) (8,9).

Détection de l’apoptose

Les membranes de cellules saines présentent une forte asymétrie de composition de leurs deux feuillets, alors que cette asymétrie est perdue dans les cellules apoptotiques. La sonde F2N12S, qui s’incorpore sélectivement dans le feuillet externe de la membrane plasmique d’une cellule, peut détecter la perte de cette asymétrie grâce à une variation de son rapport d’intensité N*/T* (4). Etant ratiométrique, la réponse de cette sonde peut facilement être calibrée en microscopie de fluorescence, ce qui peut difficilement être réalisé avec des sondes fluorescentes basées sur l’Annexine-V. Récemment, nous avons montré que la sonde NR12S dérivée du Rouge Nil peut aussi être utilisée pour la détection de l’apoptose (10).

Imagerie des domaines membranaires

Il est admis que les domaines membranaires ou “radeaux lipidiques” sont impliqués dans de nombreuses fonctions cellulaires. Dans les modèles membranaires, ces domaines, définis comme des phases liquide-ordonnée, se comportent comme des radeaux flottant dans la phase fluide. Du fait de leur forte réponse à l’hydratation de la membrane, les sondes NR12S et F2N12S permettent de visualiser ces domaines dans des membranes modèles et de mesurer l’ordre lipidique dans les membranes cellulaires, par imagerie ratiométrique (8,9) et FLIM

Sondes pour interactions biomoléculaires

En utilisant des sondes sensibles à l’environnement, nous développons des stratégies pour suivre les interactions de peptides ou de protéines avec des acides nucléiques, des protéines ou des membranes lipidiques (11). L’interaction d’un peptide avec sa cible induit communément une modification de son environnement local pouvant être détectée par l’une de nos sondes via un changement de sa couleur d’émission.

Interactions Peptides-Acides nucléiques

Nous développons des sondes sensibles à l’environnement à partir de la 3HC afin d’étudier les interactions peptide-oligonucléotide (ODN). Ainsi, lorsque la sonde est fixée à l’extrémité N-terminale de la protéine NCp7 de VIH-1, son rapport N*/T* dépend de la séquence de l’ODN en interaction et corrèle avec la structure 3D du complexe correspondant (12). Nous avons étendu cette approche en développant des analogues d’acides aminés basés sur de la 3HC, capables de se substituer aux résidus Trp, permettant ainsi d’obtenir une information site-sélective sur ces complexes avec des ODNs (13). D’autres analogues d’acides aminés du même type sont en développement.

Interactions Peptides-Protéines

Le marquage d’un peptide par une sonde 3HC permet de suivre son interaction avec une protéine cible via les changements du rapport N*/T* (14), nous procurant ainsi un outil universel pour étudier les interactions peptide-protéine (11).

Interactions Protéines-Membranes

Nous avons également développé des sondes et des analogues d’acides aminés dérivés des 3HC pour suivre des interactions protéine-membrane (15). Actuellement, nous les utilisons pour étudier l’insertion et l’orientation de différents peptides (mélittine, NCp7, penétratine…) dans des membranes modèles et/ou cellulaires

Nanoparticules fluorescentes et vecteurs

Nanoparticules fluorescentes organiques.

Les nanoparticules fluorescentes ont révolutionné le domaine de l’imagerie en biologie de par leur brillance exceptionnelle et la possibilité des utiliser en combinaison avec d’autres modalités en imagerie et en thérapie. Les nanoparticules les mieux caractérisées à ce jour sont des nanoparticules inorganiques telles que les quantum dots ou les nanoparticules de silice dopées avec une sonde. Cependant, leur principale limitation réside dans leur faible biodégradabilité. Notre but est de développer des nanoparticules fluorescentes organiques de taille contrôlée (5 to 100 nm), biodégradables et présentant une brillance comparable, voir meilleure, à celle des quantum dots. Ces nanoparticules sont obtenues par auto-assemblage de lipides (16), d’amphiphiles (17), ou de polymères, et sont capables de répondre par des changements de leurs propriétés photophysiques à des stimuli externes. Elles sont destinées à être appliquées pour la détection sensible de biomolécules (enzymes ou acides nucléiques) et pour l’imagerie cellulaire ou du petit animal, notamment dans le contexte de pathologies virales ou cancéreuses.

Vecteurs supramoléculaires pour oligonucléotides et peptides

Nous développons aussi de nouveaux concepts en vue de préparer des nano-vecteurs pour peptides et acides nucléiques. Notre équipe a été pionnière dans l’utilisation des techniques de spectroscopie et microscopie de fluorescence pour des études de délivrance de gènes avec des vecteurs à base de lipides cationiques (18,19) et de polymères (20,21). Récemment, nous avons développé nos propres stratégies pour concevoir et synthétiser des vecteurs. Des bolaamphiphiles asymétriques ont été conçus pour former avec l’ADN des nanostructures capables de transfecter des cellules in vitro (22,23). Des calixarénes cationiques amphiphiles ont également été conçus pour former des micelles s’assemblant avec l’ADN en nanoparticules stables avec un bon pouvoir transfectant (24). Actuellement, nous étendons ces approches au développement de nano-vecteurs pour de courts oligonucléotides et peptides. Une modalité de fluorescence a également été introduite pour des applications théranostiques.