Laboratory of Biophotonics and Pharmacology
UMR CNRS 7213


Partenaires

CNRS
Logo Universite de strasbourg
 

Search

On this website

On the whole CNRS Web


Home page > Biophotonics Team > Physics/chemistry for imaging (...) > Advanced fluorescence microscopy

Development of advanced fluorescence-based instrumentation

P. Didier, L. Richert

Last update 20 April 2013

As part of our research activities, we develop and use advanced fluorescence-based instruments for spectroscopy and microscopy:
- Quantitative two-photon imaging
- Single molecule microscopy
- Sub-Diffraction Imaging
- Time-resolved fluorescence measurements
- Atomic Force Microscopy
- Peptide synthesis

Quantitative two-photon imaging

We have build-up a two-photon microscope that combines two photon imaging with quantitative microscopy modalities, such as FLIM and FCS

Two photon imaging offers several advantages compared to confocal microscopy, since it induces less photo-damage, it allows higher fluorescence collection efficiency and imaging of thicker samples (due to the better penetration of IR light as compared to visible light)

JPEG - 27.7 kb

Fluorescence Lifetime Imaging Microscopy (FLIM)

FLIM is a technique in which the fluorescence lifetimes of a chromophore are measured at each spatially resolvable element of a microscope image. Protein-protein interactions can be spatially resolved by monitoring the fluorescence lifetime of a donor in Fluorescence Resonance Energy Transfer (FRET) experiments. The major advantage of this technique is that the fluorescence lifetime is an intrinsic parameter that does not depend on the donor concentration and the excitation power of the laser.

Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy (FCS)

FCS is a technique that monitors the intensity fluctuations of fluorescent species that diffuse through a femtoliter volume (defined by the laser excitation). The diffusion constant, local concentration and molecular brightness, related to the hydrodynamic and photophysical properties of these species can be determined.

Two focus FCS

To determine with high accuracy the diffusion coefficient of fluorescent species, a two-Focus FCS geometry was built up, using a Michelson interferometer. The precise distance between the two foci allows overcoming the uncertainties relying on the determination of the size and shape of the confocal volume in single focus FCS.

Scanning FCS (sFCS)

With sFCS, the fluorescence signal is collected by scanning the laser beam on the sample. The fluorescence fluctuations contain both temporal and spatial information about the fluorescent species. Different sFCS modes are available depending on the requested parameters (circular FCS, RICS, N&B). The sFCS techniques are particularly suited for slowly diffusing species

[top Page]Single molecule microscopy

Single molecule microscopy provides unique information on heterogeneous populations of molecules by giving access to the complete distribution of observables, allowing discrimination between static and dynamic heterogeneity of their properties, and enabling the detection of rare events or succession of events hidden by ensemble averaging and the impossibility to synchronize molecules. We have build a set-up composed of a widefield microscope with TIRF illumination (Total Internal Reflection Fluorescence) coupled to an EMCCD to image single molecules.

[top Page]Sub-Diffraction Imaging

Until recently, optical microscopy was limited by the diffraction that limited the resolution to  200 nm in the lateral direction and 500 nm in the axial direction. . Recent advances allowed breaking the diffraction limits, introducing the extremely promising era of “nanoscopy”, with resolution ≤50 nm. Among the different nanoscopy techniques, we have developed two setups based on widefield and point scanning microscopy, respectively; which allow imaging nanoobjects with 40 nm resolution.

PALM/STORM

In the Photo-Activated Localization Microscopy (PALM) and Stochastic Optical Reconstruction Microscopy (STORM) methods, a few molecules are activated, imaged and then switched-off or photo-bleached. A sub-diffraction image can be reconstructed after determining with high accuracy the position of all individual molecules.

STED

In the STED (Stimulated Emission Depletion) technique, the point spread function (PSF) is physically reduced by a doughnut shaped depletion laser that switches-off the fluorophores in the periphery of the excitation spot.

[top Page]Time-resolved fluorescence measurements

We have developed a set-up, based on Time-Correlated Single Photon Counting (TCSPC), working with a picosecond laser excitation and a microchannel plate photomultiplier. This set-up allows measurement of fluorescence lifetimes and rotational correlation times down to 30 ps.

Time-resolved intensity decays provide detailed information about the environment of the fluorophore, as well as about conformations of molecules and excited state reactions. These decays are also ideally suited to monitor resonance-energy transfer and dynamic quenching processes. Time-resolved anisotropy decays can be used to investigate the local and global (size dependent) rotations of a labeled species

[top Page]Atomic Force Microscopy

The laboratory is equipped with a commercial Scanning Probe Microscope (SPM) (NT-MDT solver PRO) that allows AFM measurements in dry and liquid phases. A specific module is also available for Scanning Tunnel Microscopy (STM).

A second setup combining AFM and TIRF microscopy was developed. The AFM microscope works in solid and liquid phase in contact and tapping mode. Correlation and analysis of AFM and fluorescence image are made post processing. STORM (Stochastic Optical Reconstruction Microscopy (STORM)) and SFT (Single Fluorophore Tracking) modes are available too.

Peptide synthesis

An ABI 433 (Applied Biosystem) synthesizer is used to perform solid phase peptide synthesis using the Fmoc method. The peptide size and quantity can be easily tuned with the type of resin used. Peptides ranging from 20 to 96 amino-acids have been synthesized (NCp7, Vpr and Tat from HIV-1, HCV Core protein, HBV capsid protein…) (12, 13). Labelling with non-natural amino-acids, commercial chromophores (fluorescein, rhodamine….) and chromophores synthesized in the laboratory (3-hydroxychromone derivatives) can be easily realized.

Keywords

fluorescence, microscopy

Laboratoire de Biophotonique et Pharmacologie
UMR CNRS 7213


Partenaires

CNRS
Logo Universite de strasbourg
 

Rechercher

Sur ce site

Sur le Web du CNRS


Accueil du site > Equipe Biophotonique des interactio > Physique et chimie pour l’imagerie > Microscopie de fluorescence (...)

Instrumentation de pointe en spectroscopie et microscopie de fluorescence

P. Didier, L. Richert

Mise à jour 30 avril 2013

Parmi nos activités de recherche, nous développons et utilisons une instrumentation de pointe en spectroscopie et microscopie de fluorescence :

- Imagerie biphotonique quantitative
- Microscopie à Molécule Unique
- Imagerie à haute résolution
- Mesures de fluorescence résolue en temps
- Microscopie à Force Atomique
- Synthèse Peptidique

Imagerie biophotonique quantitative

Nous avons construit un microscope à excitation biphotonique combinant une imagerie à deux photons avec des modalités d’imagerie quantitative telles le FLIM et la FCS

L’imagerie biphotonique offre de nombreux avantages comparés à la microscopie confocale, notamment en induisant moins de photo-dommages et en permettant une imagerie sur des échantillons plus épais (du fait d’une meilleure pénétration de la lumière IR par rapport à la lumière visible)

Microscopie d’Imagerie en Temps de Vie de Fluorescence (FLIM)

Le FLIM est une technique consistant à mesurer les temps de vie de fluorescence d’un fluorophore pour chaque pixel de l’image. En utilisant le principe du Transfert Résonnant d’Energie de Fluorescence (FRET), les interactions protéine-protéine (l’une marquée par un donneur d’énergie de fluorescence et l’autre par un accepteur) peuvent être résolues spatialement en mesurant le temps de vie de fluorescence du donneur. Le principal avantage de cette technique découle du fait que le temps de vie de fluorescence est un paramètre intrinsèque qui ne dépend pas de la concentration en donneur et de la puissance d’excitation du laser.

Spectroscopie par Corrélation de Fluorescence (FCS)

La FCS est une technique basée sur l’analyse des fluctuations d’intensité d’espèces fluorescentes diffusant à l’intérieur d’un volume de l’ordre du femtolitre (défini par le laser d’excitation). La constante de diffusion, la concentration locale et la brillance de chacune de ces espèces, étant reliées à leurs propriétés photophysiques et hydrodynamiques, peuvent ainsi être déterminées.

JPEG - 23.5 ko

FCS à deux foyers

Pour déterminer avec une grande précision les coefficients de diffusion des espèces fluorescentes, un dispositif FCS à deux foyers à été construit, en utilisant un interféromètre de Michelson. La distance précise entre les deux foyers permet de surmonter les incertitudes sur la taille et de la forme du volume confocal, existant en FCS à un seul foyer.

JPEG - 26.2 ko

FCS à balayage (sFCS)

En sFCS, le signal de fluorescence est collecté en balayant le faisceau laser sur l’échantillon. Dans ce cas, les fluctuations de fluorescence contiennent à la fois des informations spatiales et temporelles sur les espèces fluorescentes. Différents modes de sFCS sont disponibles selon les paramètres requis (FCS circulaire, RICS, N&B). Les techniques de sFCS sont particulièrement adaptées pour des espèces à diffusion lente.

JPEG - 37.9 ko

[top Page]

Microscopie à molécule unique

La microscopie à molécule unique fournit des informations individuelles sur des populations hétérogènes de molécules en permettant l’accès à la distribution complète des observables. Elle permet ainsi de discriminer entre une hétérogénéité de nature statique ou dynamique et de détecter des événements rares, masqués soit par un effet de moyenne sur l’ensemble des molécules soit par l’impossibilité de synchroniser les molécules. Nous avons construit un dispositif composé d’un microscope à champ large avec illumination TIRF (Fluorescence à Réflexion Totale Interne) couplé à une EMCCD, capable d’imager des molécules uniques.

JPEG - 33 ko

[top Page]Imagerie à haute résolution

Jusqu’à récemment, la microscopie optique ne pouvait aller en deçà de la limite imposée par la diffraction, soit 200 nm dans la direction latérale et 500 nm dans la direction axiale. Des avancées récentes ont permis de franchir ces limites, initiant l’ère extrêmement prometteuse de la “nanoscopie”, avec une résolution inférieure à 50 nm. Parmi les différentes techniques de nanoscopie, nous avons développé deux montages basés respectivement sur une microscopie à champ large et une autre à balayage, permettant d’imager des objets avec une résolution de 40 nm.

PALM/STORM

Dans la microscopie de localisation par photoactivation (PALM) et la microscopie par reconstruction stochastique optique (STORM), quelques molécules sont activées, imagées, puis éteintes ou photoblanchies. Une image en deçà de la limite de diffraction est alors reconstruite après avoir déterminé avec une haute précision la position de toutes les molécules individuelles.

STED

Dans la technique de microscopie de déplétion par émission stimulée (STED), la fonction d’étalement du point (PSF) est physiquement réduite par un laser de déplétion de forme annulaire qui éteint les fluorophores à la périphérie du spot d’excitation.

[top Page]

Mesures de fluorescence résolue en temps

Nous avons développé un dispositif, basé sur le comptage de photons uniques (Time-Correlated Single Photon Counting), équipé d’une source d’excitation laser picoseconde et d’un photomultiplicateur à galette de microcanaux. Le dispositif permet la mesure de temps de vie de fluorescence et de temps de corrélation rotationnelle, avec une résolution temporelle de 30 ps.

Les déclins d’intensité résolus en temps permettent d’obtenir une information détaillée sur l’environnement des fluorophores ainsi que sur leurs conformations et leurs réactions à l’état excité. Ces déclins sont aussi idéalement adaptés pour suivre les processus de transfert d’énergie par résonance et d’inhibition dynamique de la fluorescence. Les déclins d’anisotropie résolus en temps sont utiles pour étudier et distinguer les rotations locales et globales (taille-dépendantes) de biomolécules marquées.

[top Page]

Microscopie à Force Atomique

Le Laboratoire est équipé d’un microscope commercial à sonde de balayage (NT-MDT solver PRO) qui permet des mesures d’AFM en phases sèche ou liquide. Un module spécifique est aussi disponible pour de la microscopie de balayage à effet tunnel (STM). Un deuxième montage combinant une AFM avec un microscope TIRF a été développé. L’AFM permet de travailler en phase sèche ou liquide, avec un mode contact ou intermittent. La superposition et l’analyse des images AFM et de fluorescence se fait post-acquisition. Des modes STORM et SFT (suivi de fluorophores uniques) sont également disponibles.

Synthèse Peptidique

Un synthétiseur ABI 433 (Applied Biosystem) est utilisé pour réaliser la synthèse de peptides en phase solide par la méthode Fmoc. La taille du peptide et sa quantité dépendent du type de résine utilisé. Des peptides de 20 à 96 acides aminés ont été synthétisés (NCp7, Vpr et Tat de HIV-1, protéine core de HCV …) (12,13). Le marquage avec des acides aminés non-naturels et des fluorophores commerciaux (fluorescéine, rhodamine….) ou synthétisés au laboratoire (dérivés 3-hydroxychromone) peut être réalisé.